University English: the blog for ESL students

April 14, 2013

About Written Test #1

Filed under: Uncategorized — richardlstansfield @ 9:28 am

Possible Test Questions

* Vocabulary

I give you a definition, and you write the word.

example

_______ (noun): the evening or night of any day of the week except Sunday and usually Saturday

answer

weeknight (noun): the evening or night of any day of the week except Sunday and usually Saturday

(See Categories: vocabulary on my blog.)

* Useful Language

Complete the conversation.

example

A:
B: We have to do exercise 3 on page 4.

answer

A: What do we have to do?
B: We have to do exercise 3 on page 4.

(See page x in the text book.)

* Questions and answers

Write the question for each answer.

example

A:
B: Red.

answer

A: What’s your favorite color?
B: Red.

(See page pages 3, 12, and 16 of the text book.)

* Rejoinders and follow-up questions

Complete the conversations by writing a rejoinder and a follow-up question.

example

A: I’m so tired.
B: _______ ? _______________ ?
A: I’m working two jobs this semester, so I’m getting up at 5:30 to study.

answer

A: I’m so tired.
B: Oh really? How come?
A: I’m working two jobs this semester, so I’m getting up at 5:30 to study.

(See hand-outs)

* Starting a conversation

Write down a way to start a conversation for each situation.

example

You meet someone new at a party. The food is really good.

possible answers

“This food is delicious!”

“Mmm. The food is good.”

“Boy, this food is great!”

(See hand-outs and pages 6 and 7 of the text book.)

* Stopping a conversation

Complete the conversation with a conversation stopper.

example

A: I think the teacher is ready to start. It’s been __________ .
B: OK. Bye.

answer

A: I think the teacher is ready to start. It’s been nice talking to you.
B: OK. Bye.

(See hand-out.)

* Verb forms

Complete the conversations with the correct verb and use the correct form.

example

A: Do you like _______ board games?
B: Yes, I think they’re interesting.

answer

A: Do you like playing/to play board games?
B: Yes, I think they’re interesting.

(See page 13 of the text book.)

* Simple present and present continuous

Complete the conversations with the correct verb and use the correct tense.

example

A: How _______ you _______ with stress?
B: I _______ a course in aromatherapy right now.

answer

A: How do you cope with stress?
B: I am taking a course in aromatherapy right now.

(See page 23 of the text book.)

* Music Genres

example question

What are six genres of music?

(See Unit 2 on my blog and page 14 of the text book.)

* If, when, and adverbs of frequency

Complete each conversation by writing a response with an adverb of frequency and “if” or “when”.

example

A: Oh, I have a terrible cold!
B:

possible answer

A: Oh, I have a terrible cold!
B: If I get a terrible cold, I sometimes drink hot vinegar with honey.

(See Unit 3 on my blog and page 25 of the text book.)

* Bonus questions from homework

(See pages 8, 9, 18, 19, 28, 29, and 30 of the text book and Categories: homework on my blog.)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

