University English: the blog for ESL students

May 26, 2013

Starting a Conversation

Filed under: conversation strategies — richardlstansfield @ 1:28 pm

Excuse me, I like your _____ .

Are you a friend of _____ ?

Could I ask you something?

Could/Can I ask _____ ?

Situations and Examples

* You’re in a long line at a movie theater.

Boy, there are a lot of people in line.
Boy, there are a lot of people waiting to see the movie.
Boy, this movie is really popular.
Could I ask you something? Do you know about this movie?
Could I ask you something about the movie?

* You’re at the bus stop.

Could I ask you something? Do you know when the bus comes?
Could I ask you something? Do you know how often the bus comes?
Could I ask you something? Where are you going?
Could I ask you something? Does the bus come often?

* You’re at Sally’s party.

Are you a friend of Sally’s?
This is a great party.
I don’t really know anyone here. Do you?

* You’re working out at a new gym. The music is very loud.

Gosh, the music really is loud, huh?
Is it me, or is it kind of noisy in here?
Hey, I don’t know you. Do you live around here?
Could I ask you something? What kind of exercise do you like?

* You are in a new class. You meet someone during the break.

Could I ask you something? Do you know the teacher for this class?
Is this your first class here?

* You’re in a waiting room. It’s a cold day.

Ooh, it’s cold today.
It’s cold. Can I close the window?
Is it me, or is it really cold in here?

1 Comment »

  1. […] A begins a conversation with Student […]

    Pingback by Final Speaking Test | University English: the blog for ESL students — May 28, 2013 @ 11:33 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

