University English: the blog for ESL students

October 7, 2013

Possible Test Questions

Filed under: Possible Test Questions — richardlstansfield @ 1:38 am

* Vocabulary

I give you the part of speech and definition, and you give me the word.

e.g.

__________ : (noun) travelling or camping with your clothes and belongings in a backpack

–> backpacking

* Similar Sentences

I give you a sentence. You write a similar sentence.

Example #1

I want to see famous things.

–> I want to do some sightseeing.

Example #2

My place is comfortable.

–> My place is really comfy.

* Infinitives for Reasons

I need to get a phrase book ______________________________ .

–> I need to get a phrase book to learn some expressions.

* Infinitives for Reasons & Trips

What do you need on a beach vacation?

–> We need a bathing suit to swim in.

We need a towel to dry ourselves.

* Suggestions

Example #1

A: You __________ come skiing with me sometime.

B: Oh, I’d love to. Are you a good skier?

–>

A: You should/could come skiing with me sometime.

B: Oh, I’d love to. Are you a good skier?

Example #2

A: You should come skiing with me sometime.

B: Oh, ____________________ . Are you a good skier?

–>

A: You should come skiing with me sometime.

B: Oh, I’d love to/that’s a great idea/that sounds great. Are you a good skier?

* Possessives

It’s Richard’s book. –> It’s __________ book. –> It’s __________ .

–>

It’s Richard’s book. –> It’s his book. –> It’s his.

* Order of adjectives. Rewrite the adjectives in correct order.

I like the big, cute, round, red speakers.

I like the ________________________________ speakers.

–> I like the cute, big, red, round speakers.

* Asking politely (Asking for Permission and Asking Somebody to Do Something)

Example #1

A: I hate to ask this, but ______________________________ off your phone during dinner?

B: No, no problem. But do you mind if I make just one quick call?

–>

A: I hate to ask this, but would you mind turning off your phone during dinner?

B: No, no problem. But do you mind if I make just one quick call?

Example #2

A: I hate to ask this, but would you mind turning off your phone during dinner?

B: ______________________________. But do you mind if I make just one quick call?

–>

A: I hate to ask this, but would you mind turning off your phone during dinner?

B: No, no problem. But do you mind if I make just one quick call?

* Past Continuous and Simple Past

A few weeks ago, I ____________________ dinner when my friend ____________________ .

–> A few weeks ago, I was making dinner when my friend called.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

