University English: the blog for ESL students

October 7, 2013

Unit 8: At home

Filed under: Uncategorized — richardlstansfield @ 1:28 am

Spring Cleaning

spring cleaning: (noun) when you clean a place more carefully and using more effort than usual

Books Closed

John and Sandra are talking. Listen and answer the questions.

1. Whose bathing suit do they find?

2. Whose clothes do they find?

3. Whose jewelry do they find?

4. Whose earrings do they find?

Answers

1. Sandra’s.

2. Sandra’s sister’s.

3. Sandra’s sister’s.

4. Sandra’s.

Page 76, Exercise 1, Part B

1. Whose …

2. … mine.

3. … hers.

Possessives

Examples of Adjectives:

pretty –> pretty girl
heavy –> heavy book

Possessive Adjectives

my –> my bathing suit
your –> your earrings

Examples of Pronouns

he
she

Possessive Pronouns

It’s mine.
They’re yours.

Page 77, Exercise 2, Part A

Possessive Pronouns

1. mine

hers

theirs

his

2. mine

ours

3. mine

theirs

hers

4. yours

mine

Discussion
Ask and answer these questions with your partner.
The possessives have been underlined.

1. a. What’s your favorite piece of clothing?
b. Why is it your favorite?
c. Who gave it to you?
2. a. How do you take photographs? (e.g. cell-phone, small digital camera, digital camera with a long lens, film camera, etc.)
b. Where do you store your photos?
c. What’s your favorite photo?
d. Why is it your favorite?
3. a. What’s your favorite kind of music?
b. Where do you store your music?
c. How do you listen to your music?

Tell us something about your partner.

Example: My partner stores her pictures on her iPad.

My Place

Part 1. Match the sentences with similar sentences.

1. It’s really comfy. __
2. It’s cozy. __
3. It’s got plenty of room. __
4. It gets a lot of sun. __
5. I feel at home here. __
6. It’s pretty cluttered. __
7. It’s a little cramped. __
8. It’s a little too dark. __
9. It doesn’t have much storage space. __
10. It needs some fixing up. __

a. It’s not very sunny.
b. It needs repair.
c. It’s too small.
d. It’s warm and pleasant.
e. It’s comfortable.
f. It has lots of space.
g. It’s a mess.
h. It has no space for things.
i. It’s very sunny.
j. I feel relaxed here.

Part 2. Practice the conversation.
Then practice it again, changing the underlined parts. Do this many times.

A: I heard you moved. How’s your new place?

B: It’s a little cramped, but it’s really comfy.
It’s pretty cluttered, but it’s cozy.
It’s a little too dark, but it’s got plenty of room.
It doesn’t have much storage space, but it gets lots of sun.
It needs some fixing up, but I feel at home.

A: Sounds nice.

Part 3. Ask and answer these discussion questions with your partner.
When answering a question, use at least two sentences from Part 1.

a. What’s your place like? (Describe your home.)
b. Do you like your place? Why or why not?
c. What would your ideal place be like? (Describe your perfect home.)

Page 79, Exercise 3

Order of Adjectives = opinion, size, color, shape, nationality, material.

Opinion: beautiful, cute, etc.

Size: big, small, etc.

Color: red, green, etc.

Shape: round, square, etc.

Nationality: Korean, Turkish, Taiwanese, etc.

Material: wood, cotton, etc.

e.g. “They have beautiful, big, red, rectangular, Turkish, cotton rugs.”

Discussion. Look at Page 79.
Discuss which items you like and don’t like.

A: Which _____ do you like?
rug
speakers
clock
curtains
TV
B: I like the __ __ __ one (ones). How about you?

Example

A: Which clock do you like?
B: I like the small, black, round one.

LG-Intros-New-Clamshell-Phone-Lollipop-2samsung-announces-anycall-branded-c3110h-for-hong-kong

26594product2

1010892607p952850

317v6ep4bgl_sl500_aa280_6a00c225239a5e8fdb00e398aa0f690004-500pi


Page 80

Conversation Strategy: Asking Politely

polite: (adjective) behaving in a way that is not rude (does not upset other people) and shows that you do not only think
about yourself

permission: (noun) when you allow someone to do something

Books closed.

Jessica visits Ben at his apartment. Listen and answer the questions.

1. Ben asks Jessica to do four things. What are they?

2. Jessica asks for permission do something. What is it?

Answers

1. – to make herself at home

– to give him her coat

– to help him in the kitchen

– to chop the onions

2. – to look around Ben’s apartment

Asking For Permission

Do you mind if I …
Do you mind if I open the window?
Do you mind if I take your coat?
Do you mind if I look around?

Can I …
Can I open the window?
Can I take your coat?
Can I look around?

Ben: “Do you mind if I open the window?”

Jessica: “No, go ahead.”

[Then Ben opens the window.]

Page 80, Exercise B
Practice these conversations many times.
Change the underlined words.

A: Do you mind if I use your phone?
Can I put on some music?
open a window?
take a cookie?
get a glass of water?
turn on the TV?
B: No, go ahead.
Sure, go ahead.

“… mind …”

“Do you mind … ?” means “Does … bother you?”

That’s why we say “Yes” by saying “No …”
Asking Somebody To Do Something

Would you mind …
Would you mind helping me in the kitchen?
Would you mind chopping the onions?

Could you …
Could you help me in the kitchen?
Could you chop the onions?

Ben: “Would you mind opening the window?”

Jessica: “No, not at all.”

[Then Jessica opens the window.]

Page 80, Exercise C
Practice these conversations many times.
Change the underlined words.

A: Would you mind answer(ing) the door for me?
Could you hand(ing) me the newspaper?
set(ting) the table for me?
make/making some coffee?
help(ing) me with the dishes?
feed(ing) the cat?
B: No, not at all.
Sure, no problem.

“… mind …”

“Would you mind … ?” means “Would … bother you?”
That’s why we say “Yes” by saying “No …”
Also, we use _-ing after (“Would you mind helping me?”)
Page 81, Exercise 2

(Other answers are possible.)

1. B: No, no problem.

2. B: No, not at all.

3. B: … go ahead.

4. B: No, not at all.

5. B: Sure.

“Do you mind … ?” means “Does … bother you?”

“Would you mind … ?” means “Would … bother you?”

That’s why we say “Yes” by saying “No …”
Page 81, Exercise 3

Listen to the conversations. What is each request? Did the person agree to it?

1. magazine,

doesn’t agree

2. money,

agrees

3. wastebasket,

agrees

4. shirts,

doesn’t agree

Ask each other to do something, or for permission.

1 = ask sby to do sth
2 = ask sby for permission

– introduce me to a pretty girl/handsome boy –
– lend me 10,000 won –
– massage my back –
– give me a hug –
– let me call on your cell-phone –
– show me your cell-phone pictures –
– help me study English –
– cut my hair –
– visit your home –
– cook a meal for me –

Tell us something about your partner.

My partner agreed/didn’t agree to (let me) …

Example: My partner didn’t agree to massage my back.

Example: My partner agreed to let me use her cell-phone.

Evening Routines — Page 83, Exercise B
Number the pictures in the order that Mario does them.

1 (opens the window)

2 (checks his messages)

3 (washes/does the dishes)

4 (takes a shower)

5 (watches TV)

6 (prepares dinner)

7 (check his mail)

8 (does his laundry)

Talk with your partner.

. What are the first things you do when you get home?
. Do you cook dinner at home or eat at restaurants? Why?
. What time do you go to bed?
. What do you do just before you go to bed?

Tell us about your partner.

. What are the first things you do when you get home?
 When my partner gets home, he/she …
. Do you cook dinner at home or eat at restaurants? Why?
 My partner eats at _____ because …
. What time do you go to bed?
 My partners goes to bed at …
. What do you do just before you go to bed?
 Before going to bed, my partner …

Page 82, Exercise 1, Part C

Answers

1. 74% of people in the U.S. make their beds every morning.

2. 58% of them wash the dishes/do the dishes right after eating.

3. 8% of Americans never turn off the light when they leave a room.

4. 13% of them organize their books and CDs.

5. 50% of all Americans throw away old magazines after six months.

6. Almost all unmarried men in the U.S. do at least one load of laundry a week.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

