University English: the blog for ESL students

October 12, 2014

Unit 9: Things happen

Filed under: Uncategorized — richardlstansfield @ 12:55 pm

Have a short conversation for each picture. You can use these words:
broke forgot lost damaged spilled

Example:

A: Oh my gosh!
B: What’s the matter?
A: I broke my vase!
B: Oh, that’s too bad.

A: Oh my gosh!
B: What’s the matter?
A: _______________ !
B: Oh, that’s too bad.

A: Oh my gosh!
B: What’s the matter?
A: _______________ !
B: Oh, that’s too bad.

A: Oh my gosh!
B: What’s the matter?
A: _______________ !
B: Oh, that’s too bad.

A: Oh my gosh!
B: What’s the matter?
A: _______________ !
B: Oh, that’s too bad.

Books closed
Some bad things happened to Sean Davis, Julia Chen, and Roberto Moreno. What?

Page 86, Exercise 1, Part B

1. Sean missed his stop because he was talking to a woman on the train.

2. Julia’s friend deleted all Julia’s music files when she was using her computer.

3. Roberto and his friend were trying to look cool when they walked into a glass door.
Past Tenses

We usually use the simple past tense.
Usually, we only use the past continuous in these two situations:

1. Interrupted Actions

e.g. I was driving from Toronto to Montreal when my car broke down.

(I may have repaired (fixed) my car and completed my journey to Montreal, or I may have stopped there. We don’t know from this sentence.)

The interrupted action uses the past continuous. The interrupting action uses the simple past.

2. Settings

A setting is like the background for the beginning of a story.

e.g. It was a beautiful day. The sun was shining and the birds were singing. People were chatting when suddenly the sound of a gunshot rang out. A man in a gray suit grabbed his chest and slowly sank to the ground.

Page 87, Exercise 2, Part A

1. was having

spilled

wasn’t paying

got

2. were walking

tripped

fell

3. damaged

was trying

was talking

hit

4. were doing

went

burned

5. was talking

were having

weren’t getting along

ended

was listening

Tell your partner about “lunch in a café” without looking at your book.

Tell your partner about “barbeque last week” without looking at your book

Tell your partner about “my parents’ car” without looking at your book

Tell your partner about “chemistry class” without looking at your book

Tell your partner about “last week on the bus” without looking at your book

Page 87, Exercise 3, Part B

1. I was reading a book on the train, and I missed my stop.

2. Last night when I was washing the dishes, I broke a glass.

3. I was texting a friend of mine, and I tripped and fell on the street.

4. Yesterday when I was using my computer, it suddenly crashed.

Books closed.

Listen to the conversation between Nikki and George, and answer the questions.

1. What kind of trip did George go on?

2. What happened during his trip?

3. Why did it happen?

Answers

1. He went on a ski trip.

2. He had an accident and broke his leg.

3. He was talking on his cell-phone while skiing.

Page 89, Exercise 3, Part A
1. A: yourself

B: myself

A: were … making

2. A: himself

B: Was … lifting

A: themselves

3. A: did … get

A: was driving

4. A: herself

B: did … help? was … hiking … ?
Page 89, Exercise 2, Part B

1. What were you doing?

2. How did it happen?

3. Did you hurt yourself?

4. I don’t enjoy skiing by myself. Do you?

Page 88, Exercise 1, Part B
Fill in the chart. Write sentences about accidents that happened to you or to people you know.

Example:

break  I broke my leg when I was a kid.

Now, tell each other about your accidents. Then ask each other these questions:

* What were you doing? * How did it happen?

Example:
A: I broke my leg when I was a kid.
B: What were you doing?
A: I was riding my bike.
B: How did it happen?
A: I wasn’t looking where I was going, and so I hit a bump in the road.

Report

Tell us something about your partner.

Example:

My partner broke his leg when he was a kid. He wasn’t looking where he was going, and so he hit a bump in the road.

Books closed.

Listen to Hugo as he tells Olivia about a dinner that he made. Answer the questions.

1. What kind of food was he making?

2. What happened to the food?

3. Why?

4. How did he solve his problem?

1. He was making Thai curry.

2. It got burned and stuck to the bottom of the frying pan.

3. He was talking on the phone.

4. He poured the curry into another frying pan and added chili peppers.

Rejoinders

Rejoinders are special phrases. We use them for three reasons:

1. to show that we are listening

2. to show that we understand

3. to show that we are interested

For example, for each conversation, choose the best rejoinder.

Example #1

A: My dog died last night.

B:

(a) That’s great!

(b) That’s nice.

(c) I’m sorry to hear that.

(d) Oh, really?

Example #2

A: I won the lottery last night. (Lottery = “lotto” in Konglish)

B:

(a) That’s great!

(b) That’s nice.

(c) I’m sorry to hear that.

(d) Oh, really?

Here are the different kinds of rejoinders.

Happy:

– That’s great!
– Terrific!
– Wonderful!

Sad:

– That’s too bad.
– I’m sorry to hear that.
– Oh, no!

Interested:

– I see.
– That’s nice.
– Oh, yeah?

Surprised:

– You’re kidding!
– I can’t believe it!
– Oh, really!/Oh, really?

Introductory Exercise

That’s great!

I see.

That’s too bad.

Oh, yeah?

That’s nice.

I see.

You’re kidding!

Wonderful!

I’m sorry to hear that.

Oh, no!

I can’t believe it!

Terrific!

Step 1

Student A reads out a sentence.

Student B listens and then gives an appropriate rejoinder.

Example #1:

A: I broke my finger yesterday.

B:

(a) Wonderful!

(b) Oh, yeah?

(c) Oh, no!

(d) Oh, really?

Example #2:

A: IU will marry a member of Super Junior.

B:

(a) That’s too bad.

(b) You’re kidding!

(c) I see.

(d) That’re great!

Step 2

Vice versa.

Student B reads out a sentence.

Student A listens and then gives an appropriate rejoinder.

Step 3

First, fill in the blanks.

Example:

My favorite kind of animals are ___ .

Then, take turns reading out your sentences and giving appropriate rejoinders.
Step 4

Take turns with your partner. One person tells about a travel experience, and the other gives rejoinders.
Example:
A: This past vacation, I went on a trip to Jeju Island.
B: That’s nice.
A: My uncle is the mayor of Jeju City.
B: Oh, really!
A: So I stayed at his house for a few days.
B: I see.
A: Unfortunately, I was punched by a drunk man.
B: Oh, no!
A: But I wasn’t too hurt, and I received a lot of “blood money.”
B: That’s great!

[ etc. … ]

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

